The Lewiston Museum is a facility operated by the Historical Association of Lewiston from June through August. Visitors can learn about the tremendous history of Lewiston which includes Native American history, early European exploration, and events in the War of 1812. Open June - August, Wed. - Sun., 1-5pm. Admission is free.
469 Plain Street, Lewiston, NY 14092
Phone 716-754-4214 / 1-866-754-4214
The flow of water was stopped completely over both falls on March 29th 1848 due to an ice jam in the upper river for several hours. This is the only known time to have occurred. The Falls did not actually freeze over, but the flow was stopped to the point where people actually walked out and recovered artifacts from the riverbed!
NYS Parks / Trails