The former U.S. Customhouse in Niagara Falls, New York was a Custom House for the United States' side of the Niagara River. It was built in 1863 and served inspectors for the Niagara Falls Suspension Bridge, Niagara Cantilever Bridge, Whirlpool Rapids Bridge, and Michigan Central Railway Bridge at various points in its history. With Niagara Falls receiving the second highest amounts of American imports at one point, the customhouse was once a very busy post for its inspectors. Due to the high level of imports, Suspension Bridge Village, a community surrounding the bridge, grew and thrived as an economic center for the City of Niagara Falls.
The Niagara Falls Suspension Bridge, built in 1848, was the first bridge constructed connecting the United States to Canada. At this location, Harriet Tubman, leader of the Underground Railroad, crossed bringing people escaping slavery in the Deep South to freedom in Canada.
Added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1973, the building is now owned by the city of Niagara Falls 2003. State and local governments plan on building a new multi-million dollar intermodal transportation center utilizing the original Custom House along with modern additions. A few steps from the Whirlpool Bridge, visitors can access the Whirlpool Rapids Gorge Trail leading to the Niagara River.
2245 Whirlpool St.
Niagara Falls, NY
In 2012 Nik Wallenda became the first person to cross the Niagara Falls by tightrope in 116 years. He did so after receiving permission from both the Canadian and United States governments, although he was required to carry his passport and present it on entry to the Canadian side of the falls.
NYS Parks / Trails