Niagara Falls State Park is home to over 400 acres of lush landscape and wildlife, the beautiful falls themselves, and many famous attractions. Niagara Falls State Park offers a breathtaking view of one of nature’s marvels and an experience that will last a lifetime.
First documented in 1678, by French explorer Father Louis Hennepin, Niagara Falls was one of America's first icons, luring explorers, daredevils and millions of visitors with its untamed beauty, thundering roar and tremendous power.
In the mid-1800’s, uninhibited commercialism inspired a group of influential individuals led by Frederick Law Olmsted, to lobby for preservation and restoration of Niagara Falls. These efforts led to the creation of Niagara Falls State Park, our nation’s first state park, in 1885. The process through which the state park was conserved helped inspire the creation of the National Park Service.
Since then, millions of people each year travel to Niagara Falls State Park and enjoy its natural setting. Each year, visitors can don sandals and ponchos to take part in a close up view of the American and Bridal Veil Falls at the Cave of the Winds. What most people don’t know is that the very decks they stand on are torn down and re-built each and every year. Due to frigid waters in the spring, teams of park employees work for only 20 minutes at a time re-building the famous decks.
The State Park is open 365 days a year, 24-hours a day. You can walk through the park or take the Niagara Scenic Trolley ride. The Niagara Falls Discovery Pass is available for purchase and will save you 33% on five attractions in Niagara Falls USA.
Official Site of the Niagara Falls National Heritage Area Junior Ranger Program.
Niagara Falls State Park, Niagara Falls, NY 14303
A now famous book was written about Lewiston's role in the Underground Railroad, called Freedom Crossing, by Margaret Goff Clark, and is read by thousands of grade school students across the United States every year. The Freedom Crossing Monument commemorates the Underground Railroad movement in Lewiston and was dedicated on October 14, 2009.
NYS Parks / Trails